Skip over navigation

NEN Gallery

NEN Gallery
Home / Architecture, Landscaping & Buildings / Royal Courts of Justice, London / Royal Courts of Justice, London
Asset 1 of 1 Previous Asset [ 1 ] Next Asset   [Slideshow]

Royal Courts of Justice, London


640 x 480
1600 x 1200

Unique Id:


This item is saved in one of your albums. Click to remove it.. My Albums

The Royal Courts of Justice was opened by Queen Victoria in 1882 and became the permanent home of the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court consists of two courts: the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal. The High Court consists of three Divisions dealing mainly with civil disputes: the Chancery Division (which took over the work of the old High Court of Chancery)‚ the Queen’s Bench Division (which incorporated the jurisdiction of the three former common law courts: the Court of King’s Bench‚ the Court of Common Pleas and the Court of Exchequer) and the Probate‚ Divorce and Admiralty Division which took over the former Court of Admiralty‚ Court of Probate and Court for Divorce.

21st Aug 2007

Citizenship, Geography, History, PSHE

Key Stages:
Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3, Key Stage 4, Key Stage 4+

court, justice, law, Victoria, Victorian, royal

Related Links:

EXIF data:

National Education Network
Developed by E2BN for the National Education Network
E2B® and E2BN® are registered trade marks and trading names of East of England Broadband Network (Company Registration No. 04649057)